top of page
Search
  • mayansass

Colour Pop + Abstract



  1. Halloween

This is my favourite photo I've taken for this project. It uses shape and space via the spotlight and empty blackness around it, as well as the way the long shutter speed cut out chunks of my face. It also uses lines, my hands and fingers and pearls, to drag the eye towards both of me.




2. Warm

This photo uses lines, the giant, yellow-orange line created by a very long shutter speed in a dark room, which takes the eye everywhere, including my face. The photo uses shape and space in a similar way to the previous photo; the light cuts through the empty darkness. There is also the use of colour, as the photo is all warm colours. There is also a massive contrast between the bright lights and dark background.




3. Yes This is a Floor Tile

This photo was weird to take, because it turned out as something I liked on accident. I was taking photos of random surfaces, then when I looked back I thought this one looked interesting. There is a contrast between the complimentary colours of the green and brown-orange tiles, divided by lines which all lead to a point in the left half of the picture. The floor looks like it has a rough texture, but is actually very smooth. I just thought the crack looked cool. I wish there were tiles with crazy colour combinations, but this is a high school.




4. That One Song About Being Blue Da-Ba-Dee Da-Ba-Die

I think this photo looks creepy, and the cool colours add to that. My very blurry hands make lines that lead towards my equally blurry face (turns out it is tricky being clear on a long shutter-speed, which is one thing I wish I researched more and changed if I could re-do this photo). There is a contrast between the cool brightness of the background and lighting, and the black nothing around it.




5. Glitter

This is just a super close up photo of some sparkles I found. It uses a lot of pattern and repetition through the repeating circle-shaped glitter and colour through the contrasting and/or complimentary colours. The left half of the photo is more cool, while the right side is more warm. If I could change something, I would use more glitter so that I could have even more in the picture, as I had to zoom in very far so that you could not see the background.




Inspiration

Scene III by Barbara Kasten (2012)


I found this photo after I took mine, but I wish I tried to take something like it because it looks cool. All of Barbara Kasten's photography looks awesome, and I'm happy I found out about her. The photo uses reflections and lighting to create really interesting imagery. This photo uses value in the difference between the light spots and shadows, and those light spots and shadows create lines and shapes that give the viewer's eye a tour around the photograph. It also uses texture, as there is a contrast between the smooth walls and mirrors and the material that interrupts the smoothness in the left of the bottom third and top two thirds of the photo.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page